Advice

5.6.11 § 4 Comments

Oh man, I’m so embarrassed about how long it’s been since I’ve written a post. I’ve been feeling all down on myself about it, but that’s silly, I’ve been incredibly busy. I just got back from an amazing trip to Bali, and today, my mom is coming into town to visit for a little over a week. Then, I’m moving to a new apartment. So, it’s been hectic to say the least.

But, as always, Sugar has made me feel a little less down on myself. No, not sugar that goes in cookies, Sugar at The Rumpus, who gives advice so good that more often than not, I feel as if she is talking directly to me.

Since I don’t have time to write my own post right now and make it what I want it to be, I’d like to share a few pulled quotes from this week with you, just in case you haven’t already stumbled upon this gem of a column. Context? It’s her version of a graduation speech to a bunch of English majors who have no idea what they’re going to become in “the real world.”

Read it. Because, who couldn’t use a bit more sugar in their life?

Let whatever mysterious starlight that guided you this far, guide you onward into whatever crazy beauty awaits.

*****

You don’t have to get a job that makes others feel comfortable about what they perceive as your success. You don’t have to explain what you plan to do with your life. You don’t have to justify your education by demonstrating its financial rewards. You don’t have to maintain an impeccable credit score.

You have to pay your own electric bill. You have to be kind. You have to give it all you got. You have to find people who love you truly and love them back with the same truth.

But that’s all.

*****

When I say you don’t have to explain what you’re going to do with your life I’m not suggesting you lounge around whining about how difficult it is. I’m suggesting you apply yourself with some serious motherfuck-i-tude in directions for which we have no accurate measurement. I’m talking about work. And love.

*****

The most terrible and beautiful and interesting things happen in a life. For some of you, those things have already happened. Whatever happens to you belongs to you. Make it yours. Feed it to yourself even if it feels impossible to swallow. Let it nurture you, because it will.

*****

For the whole post, click here. For my other favorite Sugar column of all time, click here. I hope to be back writing soon, but in the meantime let me just say to you little bloggy world: love love miss love.

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 4 Responses to Advice

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Advice at Learning to Live Without a Microwave...Among Other Things.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 211 other followers

