Learning to Live Without a Microwave

1.16.10 § 10 Comments

About a month ago, I made the difficult decision to extract myself from a bad relationship and take a stab at standing on my own two feet.  The even more difficult decision was to move out of the beautiful Manhattan apartment I shared with my boyfriend and into a quaint little place in Williamsburg.  By “quaint” I mean there is no cabinet space, no counter space, no dishwasher and no microwave – this is a problem for me.  Did I mention that the apartment I recently vacated has such a roomy kitchen that my surf green kitchen aid mixer had a permanent home on the counter and I still had room to use two or three cutting boards at once?

(There is also no bathroom sink in my new apartment, which means that I wash my face and brush my teeth in the kitchen, but that is a whole different issue.)

Needless to say, it’s been a tough transition.  The second night in my new apartment I ventured to the grocery store to stock up on the essentials.  By the end of my shopping trip, I had decided that I was actually way  too tired to do any real cooking, so I picked up something quick and easy.  It wasn’t until I returned home, got the groceries unpacked and went to pop my “easy” dinner into the microwave that I remembered…you have no microwave.

Naturally, I sat down in the midst of the half-unpacked boxes of kitchen stuff (none of which I have room for), opened up a bottle of wine (after searching twenty minutes for the corkscrew) and called my mom because I knew if nothing else, she’d get a laugh out of it.

If you’re worried, I didn’t starve.  It turns out, someone at the microwavable Asian meal factory predicted there would be people like me – New Yorkers who break up with their significant other only to find themselves living without crucial appliances – and there were stove-top directions on the other side of the box.

Because I believe in honesty, I’ll say that this embarrassing oversight has happened twice since then.  Once in the case of microwaveable popcorn and once in the case of that rice that you microwave for a minute and it’s ready.

I’m working on making necessary life changes – I now buy the popcorn and rice that you make on the stove and I drink my coffee faster since I can’t easily reheat it.  I’m actually starting to like my new stove-top way of life.  Maybe convenience really is overrated.

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 10 Responses to Learning to Live Without a Microwave

  • Great start, more please!

    What other conveniences have you learned to adapt to now that you’re living in the uncivilized wasteland that is Williamsburg?

  • Daryn says:

    Nice job! Looking forward to future installments. 🙂

  • Kausambi says:

    Sounds like you had fun 🙂 Like your blog…

    http://coloredgrains.wordpress.com

  • foodlova says:

    I totally feel your pain! I just moved to Europe and my kitchen is so tiny and has no microwave or freezer. I almost shed a tear when I read that you used to have a permanent space on your kitchen counter for your Kitchen Aid mixer…..me…too….sob.
    I think I might try me some of those kale chips you wrote about. Thanks for popping in on my blog!
    -Kerry

  • I have never had a microwave in my entire life (so far)
    Lucky ME ^_^!

  • mama66 says:

    I broke up with my microwave two years ago and have never looked back. I just think the jury really still is out on what effects there could be to ingesting large quantities of radiated food, so I am back to old school cooking. Yes, there are more dishes to wash and no, I don’t have a dishwasher either, but I feel like I’m doing something good for my family. Plus don’t you just love doing the popcorn the old fashioned way? Aside from Jiffy Pop, did you know you can just pop it in a covered pot with oil. Amazing 😉
    http://mayberrydispatches.wordpress.com

  • Roda says:

    Hi,
    You say you are in your 20s and therefore the future lies before you like a brand new canvas that is just waiting to be painted on. Go inwards and listen to your inner voice and take charge of your culinary talents or whatever else takes your fancy, but go the creative route if you wish to see big success in your life. If you are ready for big changes in your life while still young, go buy my book and read it. There’s a wealth of information in there that you will not find elsewhere. I too am very very good at cooking but did not follow up on my desire to open a restaraunt because of various reasons which are basically called procrastinations and I now know that I have no one to blame but myself for we ourselves are the makers of our own destinies. I have a recipe blog too at http://rodas-recipes.blogspot.com
    IF WE ARE RELATED WE HAVE THROUGH THESE PAGES MET (to find out what I mean by that check out my blog and you will find the answer).

  • My microwave broke on New Year’s Eve (during a party) and we have not yet replaced it. I think reheating food on the stove or in the oven actually makes it taste better! It also forces me to cook something instead of reheat or eat a lean cuisine, so I am sort of liking it. I miss it for things like reheating chicken and broccoli from chinese food last night, ect, but I am totally into working without it too.

    Good luck!

  • […] Living a micro-wave-less life? This girl is! Visit Tyla’s blog (and one of my favorites), Learning to Live Without a Microwave. We want to hear how you do it too! Please feel welcome to share your comments below!   […]

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Learning to Live Without a Microwave at Learning to Live Without a Microwave...Among Other Things.

meta

