Exactly What I Was Craving

3.16.10 § 4 Comments

Fairly often, I get these weird cravings for pasta.  It’s always the same – I want pasta with really tomato-y sauce.  Don’t get me wrong, I’m a huge fan of all types (I don’t believe in discrimination), but when I crave pasta, I want a big bowl of noodles that look something like this:     

   

It might be because when I was growing up, spaghetti was one of those dinners my mom made all the time.  I’ll admit that when I’m feeling particularly homesick, I’ll run to the grocery store, grab some ground beef and some Prego, and whip up a batch of spaghetti a la mom.  It’s still hard to beat the kind of pasta sauce that makes you feel all cozy and safe.  Throw in some hot dog buns that have been slathered in butter, sprinkled with garlic salt, and thrown under the broiler for a minute, and you’ve got it made.      

But I digress.  Not long ago, I came across a recipe for tomato sauce on the Smitten Kitchen blog (which I love) and I decided to try it out.        

       

       

It was awesome.  So simple and so delicious.  Unfortunately, I didn’t take any photos and then I completely forgot to write a post about it, so a few nights ago, I decided to make it again.  This time, I threw in a little garlic for good measure, because really, what kind of pasta sauce isn’t better with a little garlic?   

Tomato Sauce with Butter, Onions, and Garlic
Adapted from Smitten Kitchen, where it was adapted from Marcela Hazan’s Essentials of Italian Cooking     

28 ounces whole peeled tomatoes from a can (San Marzano, if you can find them)
5 tbsp unsalted butter
1 medium-sized yellow onion, peeled and halved
2 cloves garlic, sliced
Salt to taste     

Start to melt the butter in the bottom of a heavy saucepan over medium heat.  When there is quite a bit of melted butter in the bottom, throw in the garlic and let it cook for a few minutes, stirring occasionally until it’s golden.  Add the onion and the can of tomatoes.  Bring the sauce to a simmer, then lower the heat to keep the sauce at a slow steady simmer for about an hour.  Stir occasionally, crushing the tomatoes against one side of the pot with a wooden spoon.  Remove from heat, discard the onion, add salt to taste (it’s quite possible that you won’t need any extra salt because the tomatoes are salted, so be sure to taste it) and keep warm while you prepare your pasta.     

*Note:  I’m very particular about my sauce to pasta ratio and I found that this amount of pasta sauce really only covers about 3/5 of a pound of spaghetti…you might as well make a double batch and reserve a little sauce in an airtight container in your fridge for later in the week.  Also, to reheat pasta in the oven, throw it in a baking dish, cover it in foil, and heat it at about 400 degrees for 8-10 minutes.  Good as new.

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 4 Responses to Exactly What I Was Craving

  • Tamara Curtis says:

    Mmmmmmmh! Looks fabulous. Great picture…thanks…now I’m starving and I have to go back to work instead of cooking!

  • ZAREMA says:

    Thanks the author for article. The main thing do not forget about users, and continue in the same spirit.

  • Gin says:

    OK, so I’m way behind (I plead grad school! Finals! Don’t hate me!) but I’m totally making up for it now. So, the commenting shall commence!

    I get those same super-tomatoey cravings too, weird. Also, I think your mom is more high class than mine, since we used to have the ground beef+tomatoes+spice packet kind of spaghetti. This looks good and I’ll have to make some – if the garden works out well, I want to make a bunch of tomato sauce and can it.

  • Peter says:

    What nostalgia.. Prego + noodles + browned ground beef with white hot dog bun garlic bread was the cornerstone of my at-home weekly menu.

    now that I’m finally cooking food for myself at school, away from the dorm cafeterias, I keep wanting to make delicious homemade stuff, but when I’m busy I just want to go back to the originals I know and love.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Exactly What I Was Craving at Learning to Live Without a Microwave...Among Other Things.

meta

