Chicken and Sweet Potato Soup for the Soul

3.21.10 § 4 Comments

One of my favorite things about cooking for myself is that I have leftovers to take to work almost everyday for lunch.  It’s so satisfying to eat something home-cooked in the middle of the day.  However, a few weeks ago, I didn’t have much free time and thus, I was running low on my supply of home-cooked goodness.  Thankfully, I happened to look in my freezer and spy a Tupperware full of one of my favorite meals:  Chicken and Sweet Potato Soup.

This soup is so unbelievably tasty.  When I took the original batch of leftovers to my office about a month ago, my boss (who rarely leaves her desk to get a meal until 3 in the afternoon) commented on how great it smelled.  I had enough to share and had already been eating leftovers for days, so I gave her the rest of my soup for lunch.  She loved it and eagerly asked for the recipe.  Naturally, when I found this gem in my freezer, I thawed it out and carted to the office.  Round two – the soup scores again!  No less than three different people stopped at my desk to say how great it smelled.  Unfortunately for them, this time I didn’t have enough to share the wealth.

This is the kind of soup that is definitely better after it sits in the fridge for 24 hours (or in the freezer for a month for that matter).  Make a batch.  Share it with friends and co-workers.  Believe me, they’ll thank you.

Chicken and Sweet Potato Soup
from The Foster’s Market Cookbook

2 tbsp unsalted butter
1 tbsp olive oil
1 red onion, diced
2 shallots, thinly sliced
1 red bell pepper, cored, seeded, and diced
3 ribs celery, diced
6 garlic cloves, minced
8 cups chicken broth
4 cups shredded cooked chicken (see recipe for Poached Whole Chicken)
2 sweet potatoes, peeled and chopped into ½-inch chunks
One 14 ½-oz can chopped tomatoes
½ tsp red pepper flakes *more to taste*
1 tsp dried marjoram
3 bay leaves
2 tsp salt
1 tsp freshly ground black pepper
1 tbsp chopped fresh marjoram, to garnish (optional)
1 tbsp chopped fresh thyme, to garnish (optional)
Salt and pepper to taste

Melt the butter and olive oil over medium-low heat in a large saucepan and add the onion and shallots.  Cook and stir about 15 minutes, or until softened.  Add the bell pepper and celery and continue to cook and stir about 5 minutes longer.  Add the garlic and cook and stir 2 to 3 minutes longer.

Add the broth, chicken, sweet potatoes, tomatoes, red pepper flakes, dried marjoram, bay leaves, salt, and pepper and stir until combined.  Bring to a low boil, reduce heat, and simmer, uncovered, about 1 hour, until the potatoes are tender and flavors have developed.  Skim the top of the soup as it cooks if necessary to remove fat.

Discard the bay leaves.  Add the fresh marjoram, thyme, and additional salt and pepper if desired.  Serve immediately.

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 4 Responses to Chicken and Sweet Potato Soup for the Soul

  • Twila says:

    OMG!!!!! I have to make this soup. It sounds great! Love ya sis

    Twi

  • Andrew Cunningham says:

    Absolutely awesome to dream about from a village in Africa… 🙂

  • Hey Tyla! I hope you’re doing well! I saw your blog from facebook and love love it! I started one a few months ago and it makes me miss Kelly and our Culinary Cultures class so much, especially thinking about this time a year ago…I was going to email you a few months ago actually, because I made this soup from your recipe that you brought to class and my family went BANANAS for it. It’s become a staple now!
    -Gabby

  • Gin says:

    One time many moons ago I ate some leftovers of this from out of your fridge – I think it was approximately the same era as The Great Leal’s Chips and Salsa Binge. I think we were watching a marathon of some sort on TV. Anyway, it was freaking good.

    I love making a ton of soup and freezing individual portions, it’s so nice when you come home exhausted or in an emergency lunch situation.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Chicken and Sweet Potato Soup for the Soul at Learning to Live Without a Microwave...Among Other Things.

meta

