I love the smell of fried chicken in the morning…

3.28.10 § 3 Comments

This morning when I woke up, I put on a pot of coffee and sat down at my computer to work on finishing up my long overdue blog post about a salmon club sandwich with avocado butter.  Unfortunately, my blog woke up on the wrong side of the bed this morning – after about an hour of working to get two pictures side by side in the post (which never ended up happening) I decided to take a break for food.  At this point, my roommate Marie suggested that we get brunch at a little restaurant that just opened up one block away from our apartment.  Pies and thighs.  

I was hesitant to leave my blog project at first, but when I stopped to actually consider the prospect of eating fried chicken for breakfast, it didn’t take long to decide that this was a fabulous idea.  

  

  

We arrived moments before the brunch rush and were lucky to secure a table in the small space, which instantly transported me back to the relaxed, low-key restaurants of the south.  Our coffee arrived in paper cups, which was a little frustrating since the guys sitting next to us were sipping from cute coffee mugs that looked like they came from a cupboard in your grandmother’s house.  (I have a thing for coffee mugs.  Weird.  I know.)  However, it was also a bit endearing.  Pies and thighs is obviously working to get used to the high volume of customers that has come with their move to a permanent space.  

We had a really hard time deciding what to order from the brunch menu which includes biscuits and gravy, chicken and pancakes, fish and grits, and huevos rancheros.  We finally decided that we would get a chicken biscuit, which comes with hot sauce and honey butter, and hash and eggs, which is potato hash mixed with dark meat and topped with eggs any style.  

  

We were not disappointed.  With the additions of salt and hot sauce, both sitting right there on the table, the hash and eggs was delicious.  And seriously, who doesn’t love a chicken biscuit?  I probably bored my roommate with my reminiscences about Duke tailgates that started off with Bojangles and Busch Lite (oh college, sigh), but she didn’t complain.  When we were about halfway finished with our (artery-clogging and oh, so delicious) main courses, dessert arrived.  Cheddar apple pie.  

  

There really isn’t much else to say except:  I love this place.  I can’t wait to go back and get a fried chicken box with hush puppies and macaroni and cheese.  Or maybe next time I’ll have a Carolina pulled pork sandwich with fries.  Or the insane burger.  I don’t actually know what that is, but come on.  With a name like that, I’ve got to try it.  It’s a good thing my new southern food fix is only a block away from my apartment.  

On second thought, maybe it’s a bad thing.  Only time will tell I guess.  

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 3 Responses to I love the smell of fried chicken in the morning…

  • Mara says:

    ahhh chicken biscuits and cheddar apple pie?? je veux!

  • Twila says:

    You’re too funny little sis. Have some pie for me. I love cheddar apple pie. Too much (as in my case) adds to those Fowler hips though. I hope you didnt get those awful things (the hips I mean). Well you will be happy to know your bluedevils won and are in the final 4 of NCAA glory. I watched the game myself. Tootaloo.

    Love Twi

  • Sophia says:

    who is the beautiful brown/middle eastern man sipping coffee? i’ll have some pies and thighs with him.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading I love the smell of fried chicken in the morning… at Learning to Live Without a Microwave...Among Other Things.

meta

