Good things come to those who comment…

5.3.10 § 7 Comments

There are some blogs out there that have used an ingenious idea of doing giveaways to up their traffic and keep readers coming back.  (I know that I check back for giveaways all the time.)   Usually, you are entered in a giveaway after commenting on a post.  Unfortunately, I do not currently have the financial resources to give away fancy kitchen gadgets, but that definitely does not mean I don’t appreciate those who take the time to comment!  What you get in return for posting here is my eternal love and affection…and sometimes…baked goods!

After receiving only one reply to my request for food memories (even though I had at least ten people tell me that they loved the post and almost commented until they got distracted or forgot or something), I’ve decided to show my thanks to Laura, the lone commenter.  She shared a great story about the days in her childhood when her mother would bake bread, allowing her to “help” in the kitchen:

Growing up, it was always a really special day when my mother would bake bread. My mom has, for as long as I can remember, made her own whole wheat bread from scratch. She’s very old school about it and has never used a bread maker. As part of her recipe, she uses honey to add a little sweetness. I was never allowed many sweets or candies as a child, because my mom’s very health-conscious. So, I would wait and wait until she’d added the honey to the dough. Then, grandly she’d hand me the spoon she’d just used to measure in the honey. She told me I was helping her clean up, because I’d lick the spoon completely clean (of course, she still washed the spoon in soap and water, but I didn’t figure that out for a few years).

And then, an hour or so later, I’d enjoy a fresh slice of bread with a little butter and cinnamon while my mom washed the rest of the dishes. Even now, at 26, my mom still gives me the honey spoon.

I love this story!  One of my favorite things about cooking is when adults let kids “help” in the kitchen.  Often those moments mean so much more than we can know at the time.  I want to say thanks to all of you who have commented and I’ve decided that I will be doing little things like this from time to time…so keep it up!  As soon as I’ve made the cookies I’ll post the recipe here and get Laura’s care package in the mail!

Tagged: , ,

§ 7 Responses to Good things come to those who comment…

  • Laura says:

    Awesome! Thanks so much, Tyla! 🙂

  • sally says:

    Sorry I didn’t comment! I shall do so now, even without the possibility of cookies =)

  • Erica says:

    Haha I much prefer the giveaways where all you have to do is leave a comment with your favorite flavor ice cream or something. Recalling great food memories on request is tough! But you know I check your blog everyday and love reading it, even if I don’t comment all the time. Although I definitely owe it to you, you’re one of my most constant commenters 🙂 Love you!

    • tyla says:

      I know, those are much easier, haha. I feel like you should do a giveaway…send me some of those truffles!!!

  • t says:

    I have a memory of food. It’s not sumptuous or original food. You might even argue whether it’s ‘food’ at all. But. In Houston, when I was 5 or so, there was this ice cream place called Oscar’s. I always got chocolate and mint chip. But the best part was the place was called Oscar’s and there was a big Oscar statue and I was 5. So it was like going to sesame street, only a better sesame street, with mint chip and no miss piggy.

  • I’m fascinated by the giveaways too! Have you seen goodlifeeats? She gave away sooo much stuff for mother’s day–I wonder if she gets it for free from some places if she promotes them? Hmm…

    Anyway, I’m sorry I didn’t see your post about food memories! Mine is very similar to your friend Laura’s–my mom would bake her cracked wheat bread all the time when I was little, and my sister and I would help out a lot, snitching and stirring. When it was time for the bread to rise, we would put it under a blanket (really a dish towel) and “kiss it goodnight”. Instead of licking the honey spoon (my mom also uses honey in her recipe!) we would get a little kid’s handful of warm, sweet, yeasty dough…

  • Lauren says:

    I love to bake and what I have learned is that most folks, especially these days, aren’t even aware that it’s possible to bake something yourself. Baking’s in an entirely different and maybe somewhat mystical category from cooking, according to many.

    I was having a discussion with my landlord about how I was going to cut up the firewood that was in front of my cabin when he said, “I remember that you make REALLY GOOD oatmeal raisin cookies. How ’bout if we do a trade?” So, he cut up quite a bit of firewood, and I baked him cookies now and then and we both thought we’d gotten a great trade.

    Years ago, I made a baking trade with a computer tech that took care of the equipment where I worked. I was looking for a very cheap (free would be the best price) computer and asked him if he had any leads. He said he had lots of orphans left from his customer’s upgrades…did I have anything to offer for a trade? More jokingly than anything I told him that I was a great baker and he got all dreamy-eyed.

    I baked him a pie one week and then cookies the next…alternating this for six weeks. He was in heaven, but finally said that he didn’t think he could eat any more desserts. Again, we both felt like we’d gotten an outstanding trade.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Good things come to those who comment… at Learning to Live Without a Microwave...Among Other Things.

meta

