Breakfast Pizza (My Second Pizza Adventure)

6.4.10 § 4 Comments

One thing I look forward to about having a family someday is always having people around who will eat what I cook.  Don’t get me wrong, I love leftovers and I’m getting really good at making the meals I cook work as both lunch and dinner for most of the week, but there are some foods that just don’t save.  Case in point:  breakfast pizza.   

   

After making the pizza-of-amazingness earlier in the week, I still had half of the pizza dough left in my fridge.  I knew I needed to use it, and with no dinner party on the horizon, I tentatively asked my roommate, “Hey, are you going to be around tomorrow morning?  And if so, would you eat some of my breakfast pizza?”  I think she was pretty happy with my request, a nice break from my usual queries such as, “Hey, do you think you could wash a couple pairs of my jeans in your laundry?” and “Could you take the trash on your way out?” and finally, “If you get a chance, wanna buy some toilet paper?”   

The next morning, after an early trip to the greenmarket, I started my pizza.  Although I used a different dough recipe than included in the breakfast pizza post on Smitten Kitchen, I went ahead and followed Deb’s suggestion, pulling the dough out of the fridge and letting it rest on the counter while I prepped the rest of the ingredients.  Before too long, my roomie and one of her friends emerged from her room and offered to go buy bloody mary ingredients while I got breakfast ready.   

   

   

As I chopped and sliced, I felt really proud of myself because the green onions, chives, scallions, and mozzarella were all straight from the farmer’s market.  (More often than not, when I go to the farmer’s market, I get overwhelmed by everything I want to buy and all the things I don’t know how to use and I walk away empty-handed.  It’s one of my many neuroses.  But not this time! *Patting myself on the back for partially conquering my farmer’s market fears.*) I fried up the bacon feeling confident about this breakfast endeavor.   

When everything was ready, I pulled the pizza dough out of the bowl and put it down on my baking sheet.  To my dismay, the dough refused to yield to my advances.  When I used the first half earlier in the week, I was able to pat it out with my hands, stretching and pulling until it was the right shape.  This time however, the dough was tough and un-stretchable.  It was a mess.  After about 10 minutes of unsuccessful pizza crust making, I reached for my cell.   

A little while later, my roomie and her friend returned home, pizza dough in hand.  Thankfully, we live in a neighborhood where you can actually go into a pizza joint and buy the dough, rather than relying on the frozen kind.  As I finally assembled the pizza, ego slightly deflated, I decided that for the dough recipe I used, you should  pull the dough from the fridge and shape it straight away, rather than letting it sit on the counter.  Evidently, all doughs are not created equal.    

As I worked, the girls made some of the best bloody marys I’ve ever had, which we sipped happily as the pizza cooked.   

   

By the time it was ready, we were all in a happy place.  Despite the setbacks (which included the discovery that my oven cooks very unevenly, you can tell by looking at the first picture—the egg yolk on the bottom right was far too cooked) the pizza was delicious.  The three of us managed to eat almost the entire thing (minus the one rubbery yolk).   

   

Culinary hiccups aside, the morning/afternoon was a success.  Thanks to Marie and Dosia for being patient with me and for making some kick-ass bloody marys to get us through.   

Breakfast Pizza
adapted from Smitten Kitchen, where it was adapted from The Big Sur Bakery Cookbook   

6 strips bacon
1/2 cup grated Parmesan
6-8 oz mozzarella, thinly sliced or grated 
4-6 large eggs (depending on how much egg you want)
Freshly ground black pepper
2 tablespoons minced chives
3 scallions, thinly sliced
1 shallot, minced
Pizza dough   

Preheat the oven to 500 degrees at least half an hour before baking the pizza.  You’ll want to do all the chopping and ingredient preparing etc. before you pull the dough out of the fridge.  First, fry the six strips of bacon to your desired level of crispiness.  Allow bacon to cool on a paper towel, then roughly chop.   

Form your dough into a pizza-like shape.  You can roll it out with a rolling pin, or just use your hands to pull it and stretch it until it looks the way you want it to.  Place your dough on a floured, rimless cookie sheet.  (If you have a pizza stone, you can slide the pizza onto it just before cooking and it may slightly reduce the cooking time.  I cooked mine on the cookie sheet.)   

Sprinkle the dough with the parmesan, mozzarella and bacon.  Then crack your eggs (however many you’ve decided to use) on top of the pizza, distributing them evenly.  Finally, put half of the scallions, chives, and shallot on top of the pizza.  Lightly salt the top.    

Bake for 12 to 14 minutes, rotating after 6 minutes. When the crust is golden, the cheese is melted and the egg yolks are cooked, remove the pizza from the oven and sprinkle it with the rest of the  chives, scallions, and shallot. Let cool for 2 minutes, slice and serve immediately.

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

§ 4 Responses to Breakfast Pizza (My Second Pizza Adventure)

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Breakfast Pizza (My Second Pizza Adventure) at Learning to Live Without a Microwave...Among Other Things.

meta

