Salted Brown Butter Krispie Treats

6.7.10 § 10 Comments

I’ve never been the kind of person who counts calories or worries about whether something is fatty or not.  On the contrary, I’m actually prone to sneaking extra butter into dishes when no one is looking and/or ordering the least healthy thing on the menu when I go out to eat.  Naturally, when I looked at a recipe for rice krispie treats that began with “What’s different about these? Oh, just a bit more (coughdouble) butter,” I was sold. Double butter?  Sign me up!  When do we start?!

Couple my undying love for buttery things with the fact that rice krispie treats are possibly the easiest thing in the world to make, and this might just be the perfect recipe.  Seriously.  They take about five minutes, seven if you’re easily distracted (which I am).  Even if you’re skeptical about how good these are, you might as well make them, just because they’re easy.  Believe me, you won’t be sorry. 

Or maybe you will be sorry when, like me, you’re lying in your bed, in the dark, debating whether or not you’re going to get up and get just one more salted brown butter krispie treat from the kitchen.  You might as well…no one is watching…

Salted Brown Butter Krispie Treats
adapted from Smitten Kitchen (if you can’t tell by now, I’m obsessed…)
Makes 16 2-inch squares or 32 1- x 2-inch small bars

4 ounces (¼ pound or 1 stick) unsalted butter, plus extra for the pan
1 10-ounce bag marshmallows
½ teaspoon coarse sea salt
6 cups Rice Krispies cereal

Butter (or coat with non-stick spray) an 8-inch square cake pan with 2-inch sides.

In a large pot, melt butter over medium-low heat. It will melt, then foam, then turn clear golden and finally start to turn brown and smell nutty.  (For me, this always takes just a bit longer than I think it should.  Be patient.)  Stir frequently, scraping up any bits from the bottom as you do. (Deb says: “Don’t take your eyes off the pot as while you may be impatient for it to start browning, the period between the time the butter begins to take on color and the point where it burns is often less than a minute.”)

As soon as the butter turns the right color, take the pot off the heat and stir in the marshmallows. The butter should still be hot enough to melt the marshmallows, but when I made this, I had to turn the burner back on low heat for a minute to get the job done.  You want the marshmallows to be melted until they’re smooth.

Remove the pot from the stove and stir in the salt and cereal together. Quickly spread into prepared pan. Use a silicon spatula or a piece of parchment paper sprayed with oil to press the treats down into the pan’s corners.

Let cool and cut into squares.  Now, exercise self-restraint.

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 10 Responses to Salted Brown Butter Krispie Treats

  • sally says:

    I can attest that these were very, very delicious. I’m almost upset I only got one square, though I suppose it’s not nice to be greedy.

  • Ohhhh I want one (slash five) right now! I made these sometime last semester and they were so so good. Time to bring them back!

    Also, your pictures are gorgeous! Did you get a new camera?

    • tyla says:

      I know, they are the yummiest/easiest treat I’ve made in awhile. And, thanks!!! I’m still just using a little point and shoot, but my roommate does a lot of photography so she’s been giving me tips…

  • Ohhh wow. This looks amazing. I spent years baking only vegan treats until I made cookies with butter once, on a whim. That was the end of that!

  • Kirsten says:

    Hey! I’m brand new to your site, but couldn’t resist commenting (especially after your charming ‘I love comments’ post). I couldn’t NOT make these after reading your emphatic plea that we do, especially since I’m 7 months pregnant and any activity beyond watching Jersey Shore while splayed on my couch knocks the wind out of me. I’m not down to make bouillabaisse, but I can melt and stir with the best of them.
    Just wanted to say that making (and eating 7) of these brought back so many wonderful memories of my childhood. I haven’t given rice krispies a thought in years, always passing them over for more decadent, adult-friendly treats. But while stirring the marshmallowy goo, I had a flash-forward of sharing these with my future son who would take these exact treats to bake sales and where he would proudly exclaim that his mom’s rice krispies were better than all the other mom’s.
    To sum up, these are effing amazing. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe.

    ps, use the empty cereal bag to press down the bars!

    • tyla says:

      Kirsten, I’m so glad you took the time to share! Your comment made me smile…I can’t wait to blow other moms out of the water with these too 🙂

  • Gin says:

    I’m so glad you made these! Now we can further bond over our love for brown butter and all things smitten kitchen. Because seriously, after I found this recipe I made it twice in a week.

  • Joy Pattison says:

    Tyla, Can’t wait to try the Rice Crispie Bars and other recipes. I love your blog – keep up the good work.

    • tyla says:

      Thanks, Joy! I was so glad to hear that you’ve been reading and enjoying! Hope all is well with you and yours!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Salted Brown Butter Krispie Treats at Learning to Live Without a Microwave...Among Other Things.

meta

