Kale Chips

6.24.10 § 13 Comments

I’m completely addicted to kale chips.  When my roommate Marie told me about them the first time, I thought she was crazy.  She was going on and on about how great they are and how much she loves them (she wasn’t kidding—I’d say she makes them at least once a week) and I was just sitting there thinking, “these sound weird.”  I was right.  They are weird.  And awesome.

Growing up, I  never even heard of kale until I met a guy named Kale at church camp.  (Yes, I used to go to church camp, but that is a story for another time.)  I didn’t actually taste kale until I lucked out by randomly picking a university which happens to be located in one of the greatest food towns ever.


I don’t blame my parents for my lack of superfood exposure, I’d hate for you to think that they didn’t feed me vegetables.  No, I hail from one of those small towns where, if the Super Wal-Mart doesn’t have what you need, you’re pretty much out of luck.  This continues to be one of my greatest frustrations on the rare occasion that I visit—there is always a ninety percent chance that no matter which store you go to, goat cheese will be sold out and God forbid you need something as exotic as sherry vinegar.

My mom assures me that things are getting better.  I have to take her word for it since I haven’t spent any substantial amount of time at home since leaving for college five years ago, but it’s pretty normal these days for us to have conversations like this one: “Hey mom, I just made these amazing kale chips.” “Yum! I’ll have to try those, when are you posting the recipe?” “You can get kale at home? No way!” “Yes, (annoyed pause) we have kale. Post the recipe already!” “Alright, alright!  Sorry.”

If you have access to kale, I highly recommend you try these.  They couldn’t be easier to make (all you do is toss torn up kale with olive oil and salt and throw it in the oven), and it is a really healthy snack (not that I usually choose a snack based on how healthy it is…).  I’ve heard a rumor that kale chips are good if you crunch them up over popcorn, but I haven’t tried that yet.  Although I’m not quite sure why, because the other snack food I can’t live without is popcorn.  I should get on that.

Kale Chips
inspired by Marie (the roomie)

1 bunch kale
olive oil
sea salt
*cayenne pepper (optional)

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  Wash and dry the kale.  Tear it up into little pieces.  Toss it in some olive oil (if I had to guess, I’d say I used about 1 tbsp) and a generous amount of sea salt.  If you’re feeling adventurous, you can also add ½ tsp cayenne pepper.

Spread the kale pieces on a baking sheet (lined with foil for easy cleanup).  Throw it in the oven and wait 12-15 minutes, until kale is crisp.  The cooking time varies, but when you take it out, you’ll know it’s ready because the kale chips will sound like dried leaves when you move them.

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

§ 13 Responses to Kale Chips

  • Gin says:

    Come on, I’ve definitely gotten kale at home. I’m pretty sure I even served it to you once a long time ago. It’s not that bad.

    I mean, it IS bad, but for more/other reasons than inadequate foodie selection.

    • tyla says:

      You may have introduced me to Brussels sprouts and butternut squash, but there was no kale involved…And I’ll never forget the time I had an epic hunt for escarole…

  • I have been SO curious to try these. I’ve been making a raw kale salad for a while that I love (and will post soon) but I’m ready to have kale as a crunchy snack. Man, whenever I read your blog, no matter what time it is I’m all of a sudden starving and don’t know what to do!

  • Tamara says:

    Mmmmmh!!! It’s about time! Can’t wait to try this!

  • I swear, kale chips are sweeping the food-blogging world! I have been obsessed with them all spring. For me, kale is just too bitter prepared most ways, but as baked chips the bitterness really mellows out and the chips get a really complex and addictive flavor.

    • DK says:

      Just wanted to say I like your handle…mine does too and I’ve eaten better in the past few months than probably the past few years. 🙂

  • i actually had an overly crunchy foodie experience growing up (note the blog title) but have strayed since and thus have yet to actually make these chips on my own. i do agree they are fabulously addictive! i know there is a woman in brooklyn (OIBK – only in brooklyn ;)) who is baking these bad boys and selling them out of a few stores. i dig it.

  • I am kind of afraid of kale, but bravely tried these out. So good! And they do totally sound just like dried leaves when they’re done.

    The only problem was turning on the oven. Your next project has to be lots of recipes that don’t involve making my apartment any more miserably hot than it already is… oven-free, stove-free yummy food… please?

  • DK says:

    Many thanks – who knew kale could be semi-addictive?! Aside from the *overly* generous amount of salt (actually Herbamare) I inadvertently used, this was a nice surprise. Oh, did I mention I used two cookie sheets and ate one sheetful as soon as they came out of the oven? Now if you can post something that convinces me Brussels sprouts are like “candy,” you’ll be a BFF. 😀

  • Brian S-P says:

    Just scrolled thru your blog for ideas. I don’t think I will get to this recipe for a couple of weeks, but I will and I will report back. I have lots if Kale coming up in my garden. Sounds wonderful.

  • Tom says:

    I’m in a temporary situation that leaves me with only a microwave. So I wondering, are kale chips out? I keep hearing how awesome they are and would love to make some (loving kale salads but variety is good). Any thoughts on how one might make kale chips with a microwave?

  • Chris says:

    I have one of those microwave chipmakers and I’ve done kale chips on that, cooked on high for 3 minutes. I add a bit of sea salt when they’re done, but that’s all I put on them.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Kale Chips at Learning to Live Without a Microwave...Among Other Things.

meta

