While We’re on the Subject…Sweet and Spicy Kale

6.29.10 § Leave a comment

As recently discussed, I was introduced to kale relatively late in my life.  Understandably, we’re now making up for lost time—getting to know each other, trying new things, in other words, taking our relationship to the next level.

That’s why, when I saw Michael Ruhlman’s kale recipe that calls for both tabasco sauce and honey (two ingredients I don’t usually use together, let alone on greens), I couldn’t resist.  And of course, if a recipe has pancetta, I’m pretty much immediately sold.  I’m a sucker for pork products.

This recipe also interested me because I’ve never braised kale before.  I usually stick to making kale chips or doing the old boil-then-saute routine.  I decided trying out a new technique would be fun, although I must admit that waiting half an hour to devour the leafy greens was tough.  I couldn’t wait to pull that sucker out of the oven, toss the kale with tabasco and honey, and dig in.  (I’ll be honest here, I measured neither the tabasco nor the honey—for some reason measuring things has not been a priority lately.  Maybe it’s the heat.)

If you’re ready to take your relationship with kale to a whole new level, I suggest you try this.  You won’t be sorry.

Kale with Pancetta, Honey, and Tabasco
from Michael Ruhlman
serves 2

3 ounces pancetta, diced or sliced
1 bunch kale (about 1 lb), stems removed, cleaned
salt to taste
freshly ground black pepper
2 tsp honey
Tabasco to taste

Cook the pancetta over medium low heat until enough fat has rendered to saute the kale in. Turn the heat to medium and add the kale. Cook and turn the kale till it’s begun to wilt. Add a generous pinch of salt, cover it, and put it in a hot oven (350 degrees if you’re just cooking kale). After 15 minutes or so, toss and turn the kale to ensure it’s cooking evenly. After thirty minutes, remove it from the oven, season it with plenty of black pepper, the honey, and lots of Tabasco.

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading While We’re on the Subject…Sweet and Spicy Kale at Learning to Live Without a Microwave...Among Other Things.

meta

