Leftover Pasta Frittata with Ricotta and Basil

7.8.10 § 10 Comments

I have the BEST luck when it comes to roommates.  Seriously.  In college, it was less than 24 hours before people in the dorm started asking my randomly assigned roommate and me, “You guys have been best friends for how many years?”  Ellie and I were randomly assigned to be friends for life and without that amazing girl, I don’t think I would have graduated in one piece.

Then in Paris, I decided to room with two girls from Duke that I barely knew, Mara and Erica.  The three of us pushed each other to grow as people while also having the time of our lives.  We became closer than I ever could have imagined and they are still two of my most treasured friends.

Next, I was paired with a roommate for an intensive academic summer program in 2008.  It was our first night together that we discovered we were basically the same person.  This was to a frightening degree.  In addition to agreeing ideologically on almost everything, Anne and I even had similar tattoos.  The tattoos were in the same place (which isn’t the most normal spot for body art) and said almost the exact same thing (albeit in different languages).  Creepy.

And when I broke up with my boyfriend this past winter, terrified about finding someone normal to live with in a city where I only knew a handful of people, I moved in with a girl I met through same-tattoo-roomie.  It couldn’t have worked out better, Marie and I are planning to move to a new apartment together later in the summer.

The most important thing about these women is that they have all inspired me and motivated me to be better.  The collective lessons I’ve learned from them are too numerous to list here, but I do want to share one:  Marie has inspired me to be increasingly creative in the kitchen.  She rarely uses recipes and she combines things on a whim, a practice I am adopting more and more everyday.  I’ll never forget the day she saw me about to throw out leftover pasta and blurted out, “Wait!  If you don’t want that I’ll use it!”  

A few days ago, I went to throw out some leftover fettuccine when I was reminded of Marie’s propensity to ingeniously and adventurously combine all of the ingredients on our shelves or in our fridge.  I stopped myself just in time and decided I would find some way to use it up.   Then I remembered a post I’d seen on Sunday Suppers about a penne frittata and I thought, “Hey, if they can do it with penne, I can do it with fettuccine.”  I’m glad I did, the frittata was delicious and provided three days worth of lunches.   I can’t wait to try variations on this—I definitely won’t be throwing out leftover pasta anymore.

So there you have it.  I’m lucky as can be when it comes to finding amazing people to live with and thankfully, they’ll all eat pretty much whatever I cook.

Leftover Pasta Frittata with Ricotta and Basil
adapted from Sunday Suppers, where it was taken from Martha Stewart Living

6 large eggs
1/2 cup whole milk
1/2 cup fresh ricotta cheese
1/4 cup finely grated Parmesan cheese
Coarse salt and freshly ground pepper
3 cups cooked and drained pasta (from 7 ounces dry)
1/2 cup chopped fresh basil
1 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil
Garnish: fresh basil

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Whisk together eggs, milk, ricotta, Parmesan, 1 tsp salt, and 1/4 tsp pepper.

Heat a 10-inch ovenproof skillet (preferably cast-iron) over medium-high heat. Add oil; swirl to coat bottom and sides of skillet. Heat oil until shimmering, add cooked pasta.  Fry pasta for a moment until it crisps in places, moving around with tongs or a spoon occasionally.  

After about 3 minutes, reduce heat to medium and pour in egg mixture.  Cook until edges are just beginning to set, about 2 minutes, lifting the eggs occasionally to allow more of the mixture to run to the bottom. Transfer skillet to oven, and bake until eggs are completely set, 10 to 12 minutes. Invert onto a plate, and re-invert onto a serving dish. Let stand for 5 minutes. Cut into wedges. Garnish with basil.

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

§ 10 Responses to Leftover Pasta Frittata with Ricotta and Basil

  • mara says:

    i think you forgot a couple roommates ahemmmm

    • tyla says:

      I know! But I was running out of room and the post was getting loooong. It would have taken up far too much space to say “And my two lovely roomates in Paris, Mara and Erica, who are basically the loves of my life and who I love more than life itself” because there is so much more detail than that! But I loooove you (and Erica, you too!) and you inspire me!!!!

    • tyla says:

      Ok, I fixed it…you guys are pretty important…

  • Erica says:

    This has got to be a fave post of mine — and not just bc you loved all up on me! The pictures are gorg, love your stories, and the freakin frittata looks great! I hope whatever you’re planning on bringing tomorrow night is equally delish. Tomorrroww!!

  • indie.tea says:

    A frittata with pasta, I never thought of that . How interesting…and delicious-looking too.

  • Tamara Curtis says:

    WOW! Love it! Crazy combo. Can’t wait to try it.

  • Marie says:

    you are very, very sweet. this is WAY more creative than i ever got with leftover pasta!

  • HA! I literally made their penne frittata last night. It’s my go-to-I-have-nothing-in-the-fridge recipe. It’s so amazing and I love it for dinner more than breakfast! I also made a potato frittata from the big sur bakery cookbook a few months ago and am convinced that carbs and frittatas belong together.

    • tyla says:

      Ok, now things are starting to get a little creepy…should I start searching for a hidden camera in my kitchen?! Haha! I agree about the carbs and frittata harmony…

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Leftover Pasta Frittata with Ricotta and Basil at Learning to Live Without a Microwave...Among Other Things.

meta

