Smashed Rosemary Potatoes

7.12.10 § 9 Comments

When reading the comments on a recent article about the top ten most annoying foodie words, I was surprised to see someone had added “go-to” to the list.  Yes, okay, maybe it is overused these days.  But seriously, when I think about the best way to describe these smashed rosemary potatoes, it is as “my go-to side dish.”  I make them at least once a week and if I’m desperate trying to figure out what side should go with whatever else I’m making, I usually end up throwing a batch of these in the oven.

I figured that since I make these so often, I should probably write a post about them.  If you pay attention in future posts, you’ll see that they often show up in my photos, even when they aren’t the star of the show.  While they may be a side dish, they’re so good that they do sometimes manage to steal the spotlight.

The version I use today is a hybrid of two recipes from Foster’s Market cookbooks that has evolved over time.   I’ve always wanted to have recipes that I don’t even have to look at because I know them by heart, and I can honestly say that this is the first thing to make it on that list.  (Although when I made greek chicken for a friend’s birthday this weekend, I only glanced at the recipe twice.  Go, me!)   Anyway, to make these babies, I boil tiny potatoes until they’re tender enough to pierce with a fork.  (While I usually go for the little yukon golds, sometimes I switch it up with those bags of multicolored potatoes, because let’s face it: purple potatoes are fun!  Really, any small variety will work.)

After boiling them, I spread them out on a cookie sheet (lined with aluminum foil for easy cleanup) and use a fork to partially mash them  (you can use a potato masher instead if you want, just don’t get over zealous in your mashing).  I’ve found that by partially smashing them, you get the best of both potato worlds: really crispy bites and bites that still taste like a baked potato.

Next, I drizzle them with a good amount of olive oil, sprinkle on quite a bit of fresh rosemary, and generously dust with salt and pepper.  Finally, I’ll throw them in the oven while preparing the rest of the meal (they need about 45 minutes to get good and crunchy) and get ready to eat an entire pan of rosemary potatoes.  I have no willpower.

Smashed Rosemary Potatoes
inspired by Foster’s Market Cookbooks

1.5 lb small potatoes (yukon gold or other variety)
3 tbsp olive oil
2 1/2 tbsp rosemary
sea salt
freshly ground black pepper

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees and bring a pot of water to a boil.  Once boiling, put the potatoes in and cook until tender enough to be pierced with a fork (probably 10-12 minutes).  Drain potatoes, spread them on a cookie sheet lined with foil and let cool for a few minutes.

Using a fork, partially mash the potatoes, leaving some large pieces intact.  Drizzle with the olive oil, sprinkle with rosemary, and add fairly generous amounts of salt and pepper.  Place the cookie sheet in the oven and bake 35-45 minutes.  When they’re done, they should be crispy and browned on the edges.

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 9 Responses to Smashed Rosemary Potatoes

  • Rosemary is the shit. I love it on fish, too. Salmon mustard lemon juice rosemary s p. Yum.

    I wonder how fresh Rosemary would do in baked good-form? Hmmm. Could be really good or really bad…

    • tyla says:

      Funny that you should mention it…I have a recipe for rosemary cookies with tomato jam that is on the short-list of things to make…I’ll keep you posted!

  • Daryn says:

    These sound amazing! – am looking forward to trying soon. Agreed, rosemary rocks. I’ve also seen baked good recipes that call for it so will look forward to seeing the cookies (not sure about the jam…).

  • Gin says:

    You’re making me miss my oven. Totally making these two months from now.

  • These look so good! My favorite baby potatoes that my dad makes are similar, with rosemary and garlic, boiled and then cooked over a really hot stove until everything crisps up with olive oil and butter. I always eat the crunchy parts first, so I’m going to have to make this version (looks like you get more crunch per potato…huge plus)!

  • mindy says:

    i totally make this all the time too! except i use pioneer woman’s crash hot potatoes recipe, which has you roast the potatoes for about 25 min at 450. i made this (along with brussels sprouts) as a side for your mustard chicken last week!

    a few weeks ago i nearly bought a watermelon rosemary lemonade. not sure about baked goods, but rosemary in a drink sounds kind of refreshing.

    • tyla says:

      Which reminds me, I’ve been meaning to make lavender lemonade…I feel like rosemary would be good in lemonade or in iced tea.

  • These look so tasty! I always have a hard time coming up with a side that is not a salad. I will be plating these beside something very soon…

  • […] Smashed Rosemary Potatoes from Tyla at Without a Microwave […]

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Smashed Rosemary Potatoes at Learning to Live Without a Microwave...Among Other Things.

meta

