Happy Birthday to Me

7.22.10 § 12 Comments

Today marks the twenty-third anniversary of my arrival on this earth.  I don’t have a recipe to share this morning, but I thought I’d post anyway.  The idea was inspired by this quote, which comes from a greeting card and also goes a long way in summing up who I am:

“She said she usually cried at least once each day not because she was sad, but because the world was so beautiful and life was so short.”

So, for my birthday, I’d like to share a short list.  Twenty three things that I’m thankful for and that, in the rush of everyday life, I often take for granted.

Photo Courtesy of Small Notebook for a Simple Home

Fried okra. Fresh peaches. My grandmother’s favorite coffee mug. Well-worn cookbooks. Coffee ice cream with strawberries and kahlua. Cast iron skillets. The sound of a coffee bean grinder. Eating key lime pie straight from the fridge. Red wine. Bacon. Bowls of fresh cherries. Squeezing lime over avocado halves and scooping the avocado out with tortilla chips. My favorite spatula. Cooking for other people. Tomatoes. The way my hands smell after peeling an orange. Breakfast. Cornbread. Washing fresh greens from the farmers’ market. French fries. Gourmet magazine (sniffle). The sound of ice clinking in a glass. Birthday cake.

What are the little things you’re most thankful for?

Tagged: ,

§ 12 Responses to Happy Birthday to Me

  • Laura says:

    Happy Birthday, Tyla! I hope it’s a great one! I’m thankful for a lot of the same things you’ve got on your list…with a few additions:

    Cheese. Champagne (good and bad). Playing with kittens. The way I feel after I go to the gym. My friends and family.

    🙂

  • Mary says:

    Thankful that I had the time to work with you and get to know you. May you have a wonderful birthday and may this be the start of another fabulous year in your life. By the way – have fun on your date with Brian on Friday! Luv Ya, Mary

  • Daryn says:

    Hey T – long distance happy b-day wishes and hugs! Hope you’re doing something fabulous to celebrate! Xoxo D

  • sally says:

    Happy birthday Tyla!

    I’m thankful for my friends and good food, and even more thankful when I get to have good food with great friends! =)

  • Jen says:

    Our definitely red wine. And my husband. And our dogs, because they give me so much comfort and joy and I feel like I give them so little in return. There are so many things.

    Happy Birthday. 23 was a great year, but 24 was even better.

  • Happy birthday to my awesome soon-to-be-famous bloggy friend! I agree with jen, though- twenty-four has been way better to me thus far than twenty-three. But with a list of things such as yours, I’m sure you’ll find more joy than anything. Hope your day is fabulous!

    PS I saw your tweet about that date thing your doing tomorrow. Details please!

  • Shady says:

    Birthday cake and bacon! Not together though (hmm…) I’m also a sucker for crisp white wine and having a boy that enjoys exploring new recipes with me.

    Happy birthday!! 23 is a pretty great year (still waiting for 24 to live up to the greatness)

  • Renie says:

    I’m thankful for children, grandchildren, and students who make me stay one step ahead of them (like you!) who all grow into amazing adults whom you are proud to be a part of. I’m also thankful for rain — makes my crops grow; great literature — makes me think; fluffy novels — allows me to escape; friends — I can now count you as one of a special group. And beer…

  • foodlova says:

    Happy Birthday! 23 was the year I really felt like an adult. Now that I’ll be 30 in 2 years, I feel like I’ll REALLY be an adult then…
    As for things I love – my husband, our life, swimming in a lake, lazy days off and sinking my teeth into something I have been craving for days (and that could be anything at any point in time!).
    Been loving the blog!
    -Kerry

  • Tamara says:

    Things I am grateful for, daughter of mine would be: you, crispy (not too sweet) cornbread, a good book, a great glass of red wine, friends and family to share the wine, Penny Lane, the smell of rain, a cheery fire when its cold, the smell of clean sheets, how great I feel after yoga or a work out and did I mention…YOU? Glad you had a happy birthday. I miss you.

    Oh!!!! And zucchini with almonds—it is amazing!

  • HAPPY BIRTHDAY (wayyyy belated) Tyla! I hope you had a fabulous time. You’ve been on such a roll with your blog, I’m so happy to read every new post!

    Also…I just saw you on Dating Brian and I think that’s absolutely hilarious, awesome, impulsive, fun–so cool that you did that. His video about it–well, clearly you made an impression 🙂

  • Gin says:

    You, mom, and Penny Lane. I might not have made it this long without you.

    De lubs, I hab dem. For jou!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Happy Birthday to Me at Learning to Live Without a Microwave...Among Other Things.

meta

