Pan-Roasted Broccoli

8.2.10 § 7 Comments

Remember a little while ago when I decided to make Deb’s simple zucchini and almond saute, but I really didn’t think it could be all that good?  Remember how wrong I was?  You’d think that after an experience like that, I’d have learned my lesson:  your favorite food bloggers know what they are talking about, that is why they are your favorites.

But no.  As I began whipping up the broccoli I found on The Wednesday Chef (so simple it barely required a recipe), I thought it couldn’t possibly be as good as Luisa claimed.  Once again, I was wrong.  (In case you can’t tell, I’m wrong rather often.)

I hope you can learn from all of this—try not to doubt those who consistently steer you in the direction of deliciousness, even if a recipe looks too simple to be worth writing home about.  In short, this broccoli rocks my world.

Pan-Roasted Broccoli
from The Wednesday Chef, where it was taken from this book, which discusses Heston Blumenthal’s method for cooking broccoli

Wash a head of broccoli (it doesn’t actually matter how much, just however much you have on hand).  Cut off the florets (the bushy part on top) so they’re all about the same size.  Peel the stalks (you can skip the peeling if you want) and slice them into thin rounds (1/2- to 1/4-inch thick).

Grab a heavy pan with a lid and heat some olive oil over high heat until it starts smoking (eyeball the amount depending on how much broccoli you have).  Throw all the broccoli in the pan and quickly cover it with the lid.  Let it cook for about two minutes without touching it.  Seriously, don’t touch it or peek!  Remove the lid, season with salt and pepper (and if you feel like it, throw in a tablespoon of butter – I skipped this step), and put the lid back on.  Use the pot’s handles to shake it, moving the broccoli around.  Let it cook for two more minutes.  Now, pull off the lid and grab a piece of broccoli with a fork.  Test to see if it’s cooked enough for you.  If yes, pull it off the heat.  If no, let it cook for two more minutes.

When you pull it off, the broccoli will be scorched in some places and bright green in others.   As Luisa says, “the swift, high-heat method concentrates the flavor of the broccoli, but still cooks the broccoli through so it’s yielding and almost creamy. The seared spots are toasty and delicious.”  Toasty and delicious.  Couldn’t have said it better myself.

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 7 Responses to Pan-Roasted Broccoli

  • Perfect easy recipe! I love that you are forced to not look at the broccoli while it’s cooking–I always stir things too much…

  • The Belle of Union Square says:

    The broccoli looks wonderful! Always good to have a simple veggie up your sleeve. Can’t wait to try it! Although I think Julia would roll over in her grave if I omitted the butter…

    • tyla says:

      I know, I know! You are not even the first person to call me out on my lack of butter usage (so unlike me!). I actually just forgot it, I’ll definitely be using butter next time I make this. Which will be soon.
      ps – like the handle 🙂

  • Rachel says:

    Mmm, the broccoli looks delicious. Nice to see a way to prepare it simply (tastier than steaming, healthier than broccoli with cheese sauce). I also like oven roasting it during the colder months.

  • flo says:

    I somehow stumbled on your blog and just wanted to say that your recipes are awesome. I managed to waste an entire afternoon reading through them, and can’t wait to try some. I’m starting with the avocado butter and salmon sandwich tonight. I’ll let you know how it goes.

  • Rachel says:

    This is my new go-to broccoli dish. Anytime I buy broccoli, Dan begs me to make it this way. Which I’m fine with since it takes one ingredient 🙂

  • Lin says:

    Hi Tyla! (Found your blog through Erica’s Sweet Tooth) The broccoli looks delicious and I can’t wait to try it!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Pan-Roasted Broccoli at Learning to Live Without a Microwave...Among Other Things.

meta

