Penne with Arugula and Prosciutto

9.16.10 § 11 Comments

Alright, so now that I’ve shared my opinion on what NOT to do with prosciutto (really helpful, right?), let’s talk about a recipe that puts prosciutto to good use. I had actually forgotten about this little gem until one night not too long ago when I was standing at the grocery store, talking to a friend on the phone, trying to decide what we could make quickly for dinner—it was already 8 pm and of course, we were both starving. (This happens to me a little too often. Especially lately.)

As I stood with an empty basket staring at the shelves, I felt lost and dejected. And hungry. Then I spied it. A beautiful little block of prosciutto behind the glass of the deli counter. It was reasonably priced and suddenly, out of nowhere, I remembered this amazing little pasta.

The recipe is from the ever-reliable Gourmet cookbook. (And not to harp on about it, but can they bring the magazine back now? I’m not the only one who feels this way, guys. Seriously. WTF?) I digress.

This pasta, to put it frankly, is the shit. Number one, it’s so easy to make that after you’ve done it once, you’ll never need the recipe again. Number two, it’s delicious. Like, dinner party-worthy delicious. Number three, it uses prosciutto in a way that really brings out the flavor (I’m looking at you, Tyler Florence). Did I mention that it’s fast? Number four, after the pasta is cooked, it takes all of two minutes to throw together.

There you have it. Four great reasons to make this for dinner tonight. Do you need any more convincing? Go buy some prosciutto. Do it now. You can thank me later.

Penne with Arugula and Prosciutto
adapted from The Gourmet Cookbook

1 lb penne, preferably ridged
1/3 lb thinly sliced prosciutto, cut into small strips
1 lb arugula (3-4 bunches), coarse stems removed, rinsed and drained, leaves coarsely chopped
2/3 cup finely grated Parmigiano-Reggiano
3/4 tsp finely grated lemon zest and some lemon juice
salt and pepper to taste
1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil

Cook pasta in well-salted water until al dente. Reserve 1 cup cooking water and drain pasta.

Do this part quickly! Return the pasta to the pot and toss with the prosciutto, arugula, cheese, zest, and salt and pepper to taste. The pasta should be hot enough to wilt the arugula. It will seem like too much arugula, but everything will be okay. If necessary, you can turn the heat on low to help the wilting process along. Drizzle the olive oil over the pasta, squeeze a bit of lemon juice on it, and toss to combine. Add pasta water as necessary if it seems dry.

Put in serving bowls and, if feeling so inclined, top with extra cheese. Serve.

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 11 Responses to Penne with Arugula and Prosciutto

  • Sasha says:

    Yum! This looks like something I will try to make very soon!

  • Marie says:

    Ohh man, where was I for this one!? Looks amazing!

  • renie says:

    Got any ideas of where to find prosciutto in Clovis??? Looks delicious, though! Have you checked out MY web article yet? I’m the new editor-in-chief of “Two Broads and a Convertible.” You inspired me to write for the Internet! Love ya!

  • Shady says:

    Talk about late dinners. It’s almost 11:30 and I just made some ravioli for dinner (can I even call it that at this point? Maybe ‘large midnight snack’ is better), but I kind of wish I was eating this instead.

  • Sophia says:

    I may not eat meat anymore, but this looks delicious. And thank YOU for being bold enough to criticize recipes. Instinctively I wouldn’t bake/make crispy something as fine as prosciutto, unless it were on a pizza and tossed on right at the end.

    Any good recipes coming up that use fall ingredients?? I need some inspiration in the apple/rhubarb/squash department.

    Also, love the new layout. 🙂

    • tyla says:

      I’ll try to get on the fall ingredient bandwagon and get it up! Thanks for the little nudge to get my act together!

  • Jen says:

    I’m always inclined to add the extra cheese, thank you.

  • Daryn says:

    Hmm, wonder if there’s some kind of veggie prsciutto out there… This also brings to mind that I recently tried the linguini with broccoli, olive oil and garlic at a restaurant – it sounded so good but I was disappointed. If at some point you come across such a recipe good enough to post I’d be very grateful. 🙂

  • mindy says:

    it’s been almost a month since this post! is everything okay?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Penne with Arugula and Prosciutto at Learning to Live Without a Microwave...Among Other Things.

meta

