Yep, I’m Still Here

10.9.10 § 8 Comments

Hi there. Remember me? Yeah, that’s right, I used to have a blog and (evidently) you used to enjoy reading it. Thanks for that. I’m shocked that I’m still getting a fair number of page views each day, despite my long absence, and I can’t tell you how much it means that you’re still checking in.

It seems that in the past month and a half, both my life and the lives of those I love are changing with amazing speed, and it’s all I can do to keep up. It has been an emotional roller coaster, from despair to exhilaration and back again so quickly I barely know what is going on around me.

I’m currently on a plane, flying across the country to visit my best friend, who is far too young and far too good to be as sick as she is. It’s confinement to this plane that’s finally made me commit to writing a blog post, because honestly, one of the reasons I haven’t been writing is because I don’t know what to say.

I guess one thing I can say is that despite all the bad (and really, there has been almost more bad than I can handle lately), the universe is still bringing me quite a bit of good. And I’m very thankful. My internship at SAVEUR has already been an incredible experience (look at page 46 in the November issue (when it comes out), my name is on it!), and it’s because I’m  still working as  an intern that I have the luxury of taking the necessary time off to take this important trip. It’s funny how things work out.

I hope to rejoin the world of the technologically minded any day now. Thanks for bearing with me while I struggle to get my act together and deal with this funny thing called life.

PS – Although I can’t claim to have been doing it with any regularity, I have been cooking some. My favorite creation, which I believe stemmed out of my regression to the mental age of a five-year-old that has been one of my  major coping mechanisms lately, was pizza-mac. Velveeta macaroni and cheese + leftover pizza that’s been  cut up and reheated in a skillet with the lid on (to make the crust crisp up). I know. It sounds crazy. But really, I can’t believe I hadn’t tried it sooner. For your amusement, see the picture below of me looking slightly deranged (I told you it’s been rough) but really enjoying some pizza-mac.

 

 

§ 8 Responses to Yep, I’m Still Here

  • so glad to hear from you, but i’m sorry things haven’t been going well 😦 good luck on your trip and i hope your friend starts healing soon. when you do get back, we shall have that dinner we discussed, okay? okay!

    PS the pizza-mac face is fab.

  • Daryn says:

    Hey T – good hearing from you, but so sorry to hear about your friend, along with other troubles. 😦 Lifting up good thoughts & prayers for her and for you…Glad to know things are going well at Saveur – please post a reminder when it comes out & I’ll find a newsstand! And – I can’t believe you let Velveeta pass your lips. 🙂

  • Tamara says:

    I’m bummed! You said it was soooo good, but you didn’t tell us how you made your pizza mac! More information, please! Good energy and good thoughts to you while you are in WA with our girl! Love to you both.

  • renie says:

    Tyla, please tell me it’s not Ginnie??? My thoughts are with you! Love, Renie

  • jesslabz says:

    Pizza-mac sounds awesome. Leftover pizza (and burritos for that matter) in eggs is great too. Oh, and mac n cheese w/ a can of chili mixed in…

    Hope things get better.

  • should’ve gone with the goat cheese.

  • Gin says:

    I’m so glad you were able to come. I had a wonderful time and you being here meant more to me than I can explain. I love you!

    And thanks to all the commenters for the well wishes!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Yep, I’m Still Here at Learning to Live Without a Microwave...Among Other Things.

meta

