Melancholy Feeling

11.11.10 § 6 Comments

Hello, lovely readers. Once again, it’s been too long since my last post, and again, I find myself without a legitimate excuse. All I know is that without my noticing the transition, it has turned cold here in New York.

The approach of winter is a funny thing. As I walk toward the subway each morning, in the golden light and crisp air, I feel exhilarated and ready to conquer the world. But as the day wears on and darkness comes (it seems to happen earlier each evening), I start feeling despondent and kind of lonely.

Maybe it’s because my body wants to hibernate. Or maybe I’m just not quite ready for the leaves to drop leaving the trees of New York bare. I want to rewind a few weeks, to fall. Somehow (probably because I wasn’t paying attention), I feel like I missed it this year.

Apple-Picking Day

I’d like to relive my one truly autumnal day – a glorious afternoon of apple picking with some kindred spirits (also known as Brian, Katie, Chris, and Katilyn). Getting out of the city and frolicking in an orchard did my soul a world of good. The applesauce, applesauce cake, and apple cheddar scones that resulted from that trip didn’t last long enough. And unfortunately, I haven’t made the time to tell you about how delicious they all were (hence my lazily linking to someone else’s blog). With any luck, the cold won’t continue to zap my motivation the way it has been lately.

Here’s to hoping you’re more prepared for winter than I am. Or that it’s at least warmer where you are.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ 6 Responses to Melancholy Feeling

  • mindy says:

    have you bought your cocotte yet? i keep expecting to see a post about the first meal you cook in your brand-new staub! i’m already planning to buy one in grenadine when i get home in a few weeks.

    • tyla says:

      No! I’d probably be feeling less melancholy if I had it. No one carries it in the color I think I want, so it’s been a huge debacle. An employee at my favorite kitchen store is actually bringing her own Staub’s lid into the store so I can see the color before they order it for me (I thiiiink I want the eggplant). I’m frustrated it’s so complicated, but it’ll be worth it!

  • mindy says:

    oh no! it’s not available on amazon, either? i was planning to just order one online (esp since the idea of carting it home on the subway isn’t so appealing). but just think how much you’ll appreciate it when you finally get that baby into your kitchen after all this research!

  • Chiara says:

    So does that mean you’re still dating Brian?

    Hahaha. I found your site because I was looking for reviews of David Lebovitz’s German Chocolate cake (thanks for the advice about that), and I find that I really like you. Not in a creepy stalker sort of way, but in an empathetic twenty-something sort of way. Keep on keeping on, please!

    • Jasmine says:

      haha! I was just about to leave exactly this comment! Well, not the german cake part… I stumbled upon your blog recently and decided to start at the beginning… it’s midterm time in my life and I have been clinging to your blog as my no 1 method of procrastination.
      In a very non-stalker way, I have been very curious about Brian.
      Also I planned a trip home this weekend mostly because I need access to a kitchen in order to try some of your recipes! …compost cookies here I come!

      Sending best wishes your way. 🙂

      • Tyla says:

        Chiara and Jasmine, your comments made me laugh out loud. So glad you’re both reading. As for my love life, I am no longer dating Brian. He’s an amazing guy and I’m really glad he’s in my life, but the dating ended shortly after the apple picking.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Melancholy Feeling at Learning to Live Without a Microwave...Among Other Things.

meta

