Thank You

1.24.11 § 5 Comments

You know, when I wrote my last post, I never could have imagined the amazing response it would get. I’m completely overwhelmed. And all I can really say is thank you. Thank you for reading. Thank you for the tweets and the emails. Thank you for the facebook messages, text messages, and phone calls. Thank you for the hugs. I’ve been so surrounded by love in the last 24 hours, and all I can say is…wow.

I hoped that by writing about the tough stuff I would be able to move forward and begin writing again with some feeling of normalcy. But I don’t feel normal. I feel lifted up.

When my post about Ginnie was included on today’s roundup of food news links on CNN’s site, Eatocracy, one friend aptly said, “It’s like Ginnie’s way of telling you to get back to blogging, love it.” That’s definitely what she would say if she were here, “Get your act together. Stop moping and start writing.” And since she isn’t here to say it, all of you said it for her.

Today, for the first time in awhile, I cried tears of joy. So many more people have been touched by Ginnie’s life now than if I had simply spoken at a memorial service. So thank you. Thank you, thank you, thank you. I can’t say it enough. I am truly touched.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ 5 Responses to Thank You

  • Liz says:

    Glad you’re back. Take care.

  • haynes20 says:

    So pleased for you. Please keep writing, you are inspiring. I hope you don’t think this sounds daft (and indeed this may have been suggested to you many times over), but have you considered trying to get published a cookbook, based on your memories of cooking with Ginnie? I can’t imagine a greater tribute to her than for you to get a book filled with your ace recipes and punctuated with your memories of her. You can certainly write from the heart. I’d buy it!

  • I think it always helps to talk about sad stuff. More you stuff the pain in, the more you feel sadness. Thank you again for sharing about your best friend:)

  • Aurian says:

    Thank us? Thank you. Thank you for putting yourself out there, and reminding us all that we need to appreciate the wonderful people/things in our lives before they leave us.

    Your post about Ginnie broke my heart, and I’m all choked up again reading this one. You are genuine and open, and I’m glad that you were able to share a little bit of real emotion with so many. So thank you instead.

  • Candace says:

    Thank you for honoring Ginnie, and giving us a glimpse into the life of an incredibly inspiring person. My eyes watered as I read that post, as I remembered the friends and family I’ve lost over the years. Writing and cooking has been kind of therapeutic for me, as I work through my problems and allow every range of emotion to wash over me. I hope it continues to be a source of strength for you, too.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Thank You at Learning to Live Without a Microwave...Among Other Things.

meta