Hugs and Homemade KitKat Bars

1.31.11 § 44 Comments

Let’s do a quick recap. Monday, I was linked to by the CNN food site Eatocracy; Tuesday, the link was up on Food News Journal; Wednesday, I was the featured blogger of the day on Foodpress. Thursday night, I had an amazing date with a guy I really like (shh! don’t tell him please…), and he surprised me by making dinner (as previously discussed, food is most definitely the way to my heart). Anyway, it had been way too long since I’d eaten a good burger, and that combined with the company and the wine made for a pretty kick-ass evening.  By Friday morning, I was definitely walking on sunshine.

In an annoyingly cheerful mood, I headed to the grocery store to grab ingredients for homemade KitKat bars, a recipe I’d found the previous day and couldn’t wait to try out. It wasn’t until I got home and looked at my computer and saw about 50 emails that I realized I’d been featured on freshly pressed! Needless to say, I was thrilled. It was totally a candy-making kind of day.


Thankfully, I was all alone in my apartment, so I could feel free to belt out all the songs from my favorite Broadway musicals  (namely, In the Heights, Wicked, and Legally Blonde). I danced around my kitchen feeling happier than I have in a very long time, and so much of that is thanks to all of you.


The response to my post about Ginnie has blown me away. In addition to the many, many comments and likes on the blog, I’ve also received a slew of personal emails, from someone in Australia offering to let me borrow her kitchen if I ever get out that way to a woman in Portugal, sharing the story of her own personal struggles with losing someone she dearly loved. I’ve been so deeply moved by the outpouring of love and support that I’m left without words to communicate how incredible this week has been.


Not long ago I came across a quote scribbled in an old journal of mine, which quickly became my new daily affirmation: “Hello universe. I’m tired of lessons. I would like some hugging now please.” I can’t think of a better way to describe how I’ve felt this last week than hugged by the universe, by all of you, and by Ginnie. I want you all to know I am returning that hug, and if it were possible, I would send all of you some homemade KitKat bars, which are really much more like a hybrid of a KitKat and a Reese’s. The next best thing is telling you to go make some yourself, because they are super easy and they keep in the refrigerator for two weeks! Not that they’ll hang around that long…

Homemade KitKat Bars
from Serious Eats, adapted from Paula Deen

75 Club crackers
1/2 pound (2 sticks) unsalted butter
2 cups graham cracker crumbs
1 cup firmly packed dark brown sugar
1/2 cup milk
1/3 cup granulated sugar
2/3 cup creamy peanut butter
1/2 cup semisweet chocolate chips
1/2 cup butterscotch chips

Line a 9 x 13 inch rectangular baking dish/pan with one layer of club crackers. Melt the butter in a large saucepan over medium heat, then add graham cracker crumbs, dark brown sugar, milk, and granulated sugar. Bring to a boil and continue to boil for five minutes, stirring constantly. Remove from heat. Pour half of butter mixture over crackers in pan and smooth surface with a spatula. Arrange another layer of club crackers over the mixture, then cover that layer with the other half of the butter mixture. Arrange a final layer of club crackers on top.

Combine peanut butter, chocolate chips, and butterscotch chips in a small saucepan. (You can spray your measuring cup with Pam to keep the peanut butter from sticking.) Melt over medium-low heat, stirring constantly. Spread over the top of crackers, smoothing with a spatula.

Cool to room temperature, then cover and refrigerate for two hours. Cut the bars into two-inch squares. Bars will keep in the refrigerator for two weeks in an airtight container.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ 44 Responses to Hugs and Homemade KitKat Bars

  • Those look yum 🙂

  • Jasmine says:

    Hey Tyla,
    I was reading this morning and finally got caught up to your most recent post. (I started reading at post number 1 last week, I think it’s safe to say you have me hooked!) Anyways, on a whim a clicked on my bookmark bar just now to see if you had added anything new (yes, you made it to the bookmark bar, and I’m stingy with that thing!), not expecting to see any updates… I was happily surprised when I did!
    These look delicious, this post was among my favourites. Taking the brave step you did to honour Ginnie not only showed the world what a great friend she is, it gave the world a chance to comfort you. Maybe it’s cheesy (but who doesn’t love cheese?), but it’s so cool how the universe works. Doors close, windows open, and all that good stuff.
    I’m not sure what I’m really saying except that I was happy to see a new post to read, happy to find a new recipe to try, and very happy to hear that you’re happy. 🙂
    -Jasmine

    • Tyla says:

      Jasmine, that is so sweet. Your comment has me smiling from ear to ear. I’m so glad you’re reading!

  • renie says:

    It’s about time you had a grand week! So happy for you! And once again, proud that I had the opportunity to read you wayyyyy back then before you became a famous person! Keep it up.

    These look yummy, but way too fattening and calorie-laden for someone who is getting back into shape…

    Love ya, Tyla!
    Renie

  • Tyson says:

    I must say that these look perfect for “the Big Game” on sunday!!

  • Mara says:

    Ahhh I am so proud of you love! Your luck is changing, and you deserve it 🙂

  • Aurian says:

    I’m thrilled that my kitchen offer could bring you a smile, and impressed that you are keeping up with responding and posting despite the onslaught of feedback!

    The offer still stands, but in your absence I’ll have to try out these kit-kat bars myself – they look fantastic!

  • Sofia says:

    you deserve all the hugs, GOOD dates and sunshine that you are receiving… just as much as i deserve a kitkat bar on thursday? 😉 kidding. but anyway. this post made me smile. isn’t funny how we can really turn things around into something relatively positive by sharing with others? you should be proud of yourself for writing such a brave, eloquent post, and i am overjoyed that you received the reaction that you did. rock on, lady.

  • I just want to say that I’ve only read like three or four of your posts and I’m pretty hooked. I’m not much of a cook or baker or kitchen person at all but I’ll be following your blog and trying your recipes for sure. I also wanted to express my condolences about your friend Ginnie. I can’t imagine how profound it must be to lose someone so close to you. Your post about her brought me (and my best friend) to tears. My friend Courtney, used to come to my house at an ungodly hour only to be admitted because of the chocolate milk and donuts she brought along with her. I hope that you feel Ginnie in your life everyday. Thanks so much for sharing such a personal experience with us.

  • Michi says:

    DELICIOUS!!!! Reeses and Kit Kats mixed together? – Pure heaven in my mouth. Thank you so much for your amazing recipes. I’m currently learning how to cook (so far it’s been a bit of a disaster but also a huge learning lesson) and your yummy recipes are pretty awesome. 🙂

    Thanks again, and sending you huge hugs (HUUGE!) back. 🙂

  • Michi says:

    P.S. That amazing week you just had with all those incredibly good days in a row? Ginnie’s way of saying hello and to keep your chin up, all smiles. 😉 You do deserve it.

  • WOW! What a great recipe. These look awesome. Butterscotch chips are totally underused!

  • Kristine says:

    These look incredible. A kind of edible hug. I like it. You take care of yourself.

  • Tori Nelson says:

    Love the journal quote. That is the perfect way to say what most of us think a lot! I’d take a hug over a lesson almost any day!

  • jdpence says:

    Lol- Thanks for writing. I feel rather as though I found Julie’s blog before Julie and Julia came out as a movie:)

    So much fun to read- thanks!

    • Tyla says:

      That’s so sweet! If I ever get a sweet book/movie deal, I will remember this moment 🙂

      • jdpence says:

        I hope you do- it would probably be another of my favorite movies along with Julie and Julia and Chocolat (Johnny Depp and Juliette Binoche)… Absolutely wonderful.

  • kattysm says:

    Gosh this looks delicious! hummm

  • Those sound wonderful. I am happy the universe is hugging you. It sounds like you deserve it.

  • Babygirl says:

    I LOVE Kitkats, they are such a classic chocolate treat. And this recipe is absolutely wonderful. I can’t wait to try this. Wonderful post.

  • Jo says:

    I’m so glad to hear that things are looking up! I love the “hello universe” quote, and I think I’m going to have to start saying that too. Here’s to many more good days 🙂

  • these sound absolutely amazing! ive been trying to stop eating processed food so these are a good halfway mark!

  • Laura says:

    Thanks for the recipe! My grandma made something similar when I was young and I couldn’t find the recipe. I’m making them now!

  • rsmacaalay says:

    Wow thanks for this recipe, I will certainly make my own kit kats now

    Raymund
    http://angsarap.wordpress.com

  • nitinun says:

    Thanks! now you’re making me hungry

  • Alisa says:

    A-mazing. All my favorite things. 🙂

  • Evan Thomas says:

    Great recipe! I found this through foodpress, and it looks amazing. Never would have thought that kitkats could be homemade.

  • Ms. Joy says:

    I just read your post about Ginnie and it is a beautiful tribute, and I am so sorry.

    I thought I would tell you that your KitKat bars look amazing (which they do) and be done with my comment but instead I kind of feel like giving you a huge hug before asking for a hunk of chocolatey goodness. Congratulations on where your blog is going, it’s wonderful and keep going. All my best to you.

  • erin says:

    hi! I found your site through foodpress.com and being a mild creeper I was reading through a bunch of yours and so many of your dishes look delicious! I just started my own food blog.. so I’m looking at so many for inspiration and yours is one I LOVE.

    So I just wanted to say thanks and keep them coming!! I’m going to make these kit-kats this weekend for sure!

    ps. i’m not really a creep. promise.

    • Tyla says:

      Not creepy at all! I wouldn’t put it up there if I didn’t want it read, glad you’re enjoying it! Thanks for reading!

  • These are AMAZING!!! Homemade KitKat Bars — revelutionary! 🙂

  • Congrats on your food blog success! I love the homemade kit kat bars. I’ll be sure to attempt the recipe one of these days. And when I do, I’ll post a follow up to see how it went. = D

  • baileysexecutivecatering says:

    These look delicious! Can’t wait to try them. Glad you had a killer week, sounds like you deserve it.

  • Wow…yum….why would I ever want a store-bought Kit Kat if I could have these?

  • bibiranbanar says:

    Heya, have stumbled upon your blog and read your post on the loss of your friend, Ginnie. My grandma passed away rather unexpectedly a month ago and being so close to her, I’ve been feeling the same way too. Crying on unexpected moments and thinking of the next time I see her and realising then that I’m not gonna see her again (thus then vicious cycle of crying ensues). I’m really sorry for your loss, but that truly is a gift of being able to say proper goodbyes with her. I wished I had that with my granny. Anyway, shall not start crying again. The tears will get less and less I’m sure for the two of us 🙂 And it looks like things are looking up for you! I don’t know you but I’m giving you big smiles from across the continent here.

    Plus love your recipes. Am gonna try your salsa salmon pasta later 🙂

    Lastly, do you mind if I link you up on your blog? Seeing I’m hooked to your blog already and think I should share this too 🙂

    • Tyla says:

      So sorry about your grandmother, I recently lost mine as well and I know it’s so hard. Also familiar with the vicious crying cycle.

      So glad you’re here and that you’re reading. Let me know how the salmon goes! And of course, feel free to link away!

  • freshdates says:

    Featuring in Freshly Pressed is a great achievement for you but a bonus for me too. I’ve found a blog that features both baking and dating – two of my favourite things. Thanks and I hope you have a delicious week!

  • ournote2self says:

    great blog! check out ours!

  • spicegirlfla says:

    Ooooh these look so good! buttery and chocolatey!

  • Just made these. The house smelled great as I was making them (a friend told me it smelled like Eggo waffles.) Conceptually, the Kit Kat idea is really neat. But I found in practice, their taste is much different from a Kit Kat. The butterscotch is very strong–next time I try this, I will probably use all choco chips with no butterscotch chips. Very cool idea, though maybe a little misleading in the name. Looking forward to trying other recipes.

  • Tyla,

    Thanks for sharing this recipe. I’ve got to make this! Kit Kats are my favorite candies.

    Kenn
    8)

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Hugs and Homemade KitKat Bars at Learning to Live Without a Microwave...Among Other Things.

meta

