Link Love

3.11.11 § 4 Comments

Hello all! I’ve always appreciated it when the people I enjoy reading share what they’re currently reading. Odds are, if they liked it, I’m going to like it as well. So, in that spirit, I thought I’d start posting a weekly link love of my own. Here are some things I’ve enjoyed reading this week:

Over on The Wednesday Chef, Luisa did a post about homemade bagels, and for the first time, I was like, “Hell yes! I need to make bagels at home!” Not sure when I’ll actually get around to it, but it’s definitely on my to-do list and you should put it on yours too.

And what will you serve with those homemade bagels? With this how-to over at The Kitchn, you can salt cure your own lox. This one really struck a chord with me as it was pretty much impossible to find lox in the town that I grew up in. I think you can probably buy it there now, but at least if not there’s now a contingency plan.

This one’s for my friend, Sally, and anyone else who gains immense satisfaction from cleaning. How to clean (and I mean REALLY clean) a wooden cutting board from The Art of Doing Stuff. You know, if you get board bored.

A duh-why-didn’t-I-think-of-that post at the Bitten Word tells us how to combat a cookbook buying problem. Those guys, so smart.

I can’t wait to make this tomato and cheese pie from SAVEUR, featured in the March issue’s Sicily article. (If you haven’t read the article, you should, it’s great!)

And last, but definitely not least, and not exactly related to food, this column from Sugar over at The Rumpus made me cry. It’s about helping those you love deal with grief, and it is something I think everyone should read. I’ve never lost a mother (thank God), but I can say that having lost a best friend recently, Sugar’s advice is some of the best I’ve seen.

Okay, guys, let me know if you like the link love or not, as it’s just something I’m playing with! Also, HAPPY WEEKEND!



Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 4 Responses to Link Love

  • Nette says:

    My throat aches. That last link is so beautiful, so sad, so helpful. (I really need to stop trying to read things like this at work…) I’ve never lost someone myself, and I don’t know many people who have but you’re right: everyone should read this.

    Thanks for sharing all your links!

  • renie says:

    Sorry, Tyla, but, no you still can’t get lox here, so best pay close attention to how to salt cure your own if you ever come back! Loved the idea of linking to other articles. Wish they weren’t all food, though, as we could link ours to each other’s! Whatdya think??? Love ya! Renie

  • Luisa. says:

    Oh my goodness, that last link. I’m covered in goosebumps and so, so, so grateful I still have my mother. Thank you for listing it; I would never found it otherwise.

  • mindy says:

    nearly two months late, but i loved your link love! this was just the kick in the butt i needed to finally try making bagels, after bookmarking the recipe on smittenkitchen for over a year (which is just a tiny bit different). my fourth batch of bagels is proofing right now; they’ve become a weekly ritual. mine always come out a little deflated-looking but taste amazing. so, thank you! more kicks in the butt, please!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Link Love at Learning to Live Without a Microwave...Among Other Things.

meta

